Home Features Kosher Wine 101: What You Need to Know for Hanukkah

Kosher Wine 101: What You Need to Know for Hanukkah

The story of Hanukkah—the Jewish festival of lights—is one of faith, dedication, and perseverance, much like the story of Kosher wine itself. For many years, this wine has evoked thoughts of sweet, syrupy wines with little flavor and even less character. In fact, most wine critics never even bothered with the stuff. But Kosher winemakers never gave up.

Today, a new generation of winemakers, as well as advances in science and viniculture, has led to breakthroughs around the world. These days, there’s more quality and choice out there than ever before, and sommeliers and wine critics have taken note. The start of Hanukkah offers a great chance to take a closer look at wine; but these ain’t your Bubbe’s bottles!

More From Best of NJ

The term “kosher” simply means “fit or proper.” In the world of wine, it refers wine that adheres to classic Judaism’s dietary laws, known as kashrut. Since wine is typically made from naturally kosher items (i.e. grapes, sugar), and because of its role in many religions, the focus of the kashrut involving wine tends to be on handling and production. In order for a wine to be considered “kosher,” observant Jews must be involved in the entire winemaking process, from harvest to bottle.

400px-Oulogob.svgWhen this wine is produced and sold commercially to Orthodox Jews, it requires a hechsher, a seal of approval (pictured) that authenticates the kosher status of the wine. You can obtain Hechshers from a supervising agency, such as the Orthodox Union, a rabbi or posek (rabbinical law scholar), or a supervising beth din, or court of Jewish law.

Kosher vs Mevushal

“Now, there are ‘levels of, or within, kosher wine,” said Kathy Morgan, a Washington, DC-based Master Sommelier, wine eductor and wine director at the restaurants Range and Aggio. “Wines can be kosher or kosher mevushal.”

Kosher Wine makingMevushal (which means “cooked” or “boiled”) wines can be made from the same ingredients as kosher ones and in the same way, but they are heated during the production process. Wine that is Kosher is usable in religious celebrations, whereas kosher mevushal wines are not. Kosher mevushal wines can be consumed even if they are handled by a non-Jewish or non-observant Jewish person; whereas kosher wines cannot. Many restaurants and catering operations carry kosher mevushal wines so that any staff member can handle and serve them.

The process of heating wine to the point of mevushal can negatively impact on the flavor and structure of wine. And this is where the source of that bad flavor reputation comes from. “Not a lot of wines can come back from being boiled,” Morgan says. And she’s right. (Try this experiment: Heat 2 oz. of wine in the microwave, then chill to room temperature and take sip. You’ll get the idea.) However, many modern winemakers use flash pasteurization as a way to heat the wine according to Judaic law; but without damage to its structure and flavor. The result? A game changer.

So this Hanukkah — or any day! — give kosher another try. You’ll be glad you did. L’chaim!

Body Photo: Wikimedia Commons.

Join our Newsletter!

Become part of the Best of NJ community and get new restaurant updates, entertainment picks, and upcoming event details delivered straight to your inbox weekly!