Regions: North, Central, South, Shore

New Jersey Regions Small ©bestofnj.comWhen I founded I wanted to keep things really simple. I created a N.J. map that divided the state into 3 regions: North, Central and South.

Now that I’ve had more time to deal with the site and the state, I realize that I have to make some changes to better reflect the character and diversity of the state. I’ve spent a lot of time at the Jersey Shore since I drew those original lines of demarcation. I know that the Shore is a completely different world than South Jersey and I know that it deserves its own grouping.

Our new organizational system features 4 major regions of New Jersey: North New Jersey, Central New Jersey, South New Jersey and the Jersey Shore. Monmouth County moves from Central New Jersey to the Jersey Shore grouping and Atlantic, Cape May and Ocean County move from South New Jersey to the Jersey Shore grouping. This is how it goes:

Major Regions of New Jersey

  1. North New Jersey
  2. Central New Jersey
  3. South New Jersey
  4. Jersey Shore

Counties of the North New Jersey Region:

    1. Bergen County
    2. Essex County
    3. Hudson County
    4. Morris County
    5. Passaic County
    6. Sussex County
    7. Warren County
NJ Regions Map © 2012 by

NJ Regions Map © 2012 by & John Stringfellow

Counties of the Central New Jersey Region

  1. Hunterdon County
  2. Mercer County
  3. Middlesex County
  4. Somerset County
  5. Union County

Counties of the South New Jersey Region

  1. Burlington County
  2. Camden County
  3. Cumberland County
  4. Gloucester County
  5. Salem County

Counties of the Jersey Shore Region

    1. Atlantic County
    2. Cape May County
    3. Monmouth County
    4. Ocean County


Here’s the original philosophy behind our 3 regions and the original much copied map that we made:

At the risk of offending some of you, we have come up with our own simplified Regions of New Jersey and drawn a map to explain them. This is how we will refer to, categorize and tag our events and our features on We think this will make things much simpler for visitors to the state that have no idea where the Skylands or the Gateway is.

It has always been difficult to understand the regions that New Jersey is divided into. The most common regional divisions have been established by the New Jersey Department of Tourism and for the life of me, I am still trying to understand why my home region is called the Skylands Region. Other areas of confusion arise when you try to define which counties comprise Central New Jersey, or where Central Jersey ends and where North Jersey begins.

NJ Regions: North, Central & South New Jersey, @

NJ Regions @ Image by